Flipped Classrooms

This blog on the edutopia website is awesome.  It pulls together the pro’s and con’s of a flipped classroom model, gives examples of how to flip your classroom and tools and strategies that may be useful, all developed by people actually putting it into practice.  A great place to start, will take me a while to get through it all, but I think it is really worth the time spent to get ideas rather than reinventing the wheel.

As I am just beginning to see, there is loads of information out there on how to, and why flipping your classroom could be beneficial to your students.  I intend to start small and build my way into this concept.  Essentially I have already begun this process by some of the ways I have used Facebook outside of the classroom (see my first blog).  You don’t need to go as far as podcasts and vodcasts initially if you are not ready for it.  And I do think it takes a bit of getting used to for students also.  But the possibilities are endless and so to are the benefits to students.

For those that have begun down this path, here are a couple of neat strategies that I have come accross so far.

I also really like what NZ PE Teacher is doing with flipping the classroom.  In particular the WSQ sheet (pronounced Whisk).  This is a task that students complete after watching a vodcast (video) at home.  It requires students to Watch the video, Summarise its content and then create a Question that they want answers to on the topic.  A great way to easily see the next day in class which students are completing their homework.  Which if not completed can then be done in class or lunchtime (if prefered by the teacher!), or if your lucky enough to be a BYOD school already, they can watch it then and there on their own device without further disrupting your lesson.  Click here for a screencast of this strategy.

Another little tip I just picked up from Katie Gimbar’s Flipped Classroom clip on utube was when creating a screencast/vodcast/video, you can use the term VIC which stands for a Very Important Concept.  When students hear this they know they need to listen more carefully!   She produces her video’s for her flipped classroom using a basic flip camera and whiteboards.  Then uploads directly.  This is also an easy activity for students to learn to do, as a way of presenting information back to the class or teacher, either in groups or as individuals once they have gotten used to the idea. She has a range of video’s on flipped classrooms on youtube, here are some of them that I found interesting:

Why I Flipped My Classroom?

What if students don’t watch my video’s?

What if students don’t have access?

Huge thanks to teachers and educators everywhere for sharing their work is such a wonderful and easy to access way.  Here are some other sites I have also come accross.

Educational Vodcasting

The Flipped Class Network

Leave a Reply

